Renders World is a materials supplier rather than an installer, so this guide separates what the store can price from what only a contractor can quote, and every figure below carries the source and the month it was read. Two independent UK cost sources were crawled this session, and where they disagree the higher figure leads, because a budget built on the cheaper of two estimates is the one that moves.
What EWI Costs per Square Metre in the UK in 2026
External wall insulation costs around £100 per square metre installed including scaffolding according to Checkatrade's cost guide, read in August 2026, which puts a whole-house figure within reach of a tape measure before any contractor visits. A second dated source read the same day puts an EPS system at £60 to £80 per square metre including materials and installation, so the working spread for planning is £60 to £100, and the complete EWI system bundle covers only the materials end of it.
That spread is the most useful thing on this page, and it is worth understanding why it exists rather than splitting the difference. The lower figure describes a straightforward rectangular elevation; the higher one carries scaffolding and the detailing that real houses impose. Budgeting at the top of the range and finding the job lands lower is a comfortable position to be in.
- Checkatrade, read August 2026: around £100/m² installed, stated as including scaffolding, with whole-house figures of £6,000–£8,000 mid-terrace, £8,000–£10,000 semi-detached and £15,000–£20,000 detached, all quoted by that source as cost including VAT.
- Homebuilding & Renovating, read August 2026: £60–£80/m² for an EPS system including materials and installation, rising to £80–£100/m² for XPS below the damp-proof course, with whole-house figures from £8,000 for a terrace to about £19,000 detached.
- Finish is a separate line on the second source: acrylic and silicone renders at £50–£80/m² against £30–£50/m² for standard cement or polymer renders.
Neither page displays a publication or review date, so both figures are dated by the day they were retrieved rather than by the publisher, and both are worth re-reading before a budget is signed. Neither source is Renders World's, and neither includes what the store sells at store prices.
Which Cost Lines the Store Can Price, and Which It Cannot
Six material roles make up a rendered insulation system. Two of them returned a readable price this session and four did not, so this table publishes the two and sends the rest to their collection pages rather than filling the gaps with bands.
| Role in the build-up | Cost position, August 2026 | Where the figure comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Graphite EPS board | £7.00 as displayed, in stock | EPS insulation boards — selling unit not stated on the listing, so no per-m² figure |
| Reinforcing mesh | £55.00 per 1.1 × 50 m roll | fibreglass mesh — 55 m² of roll, so £1.00/m² of roll area |
| Adhesive and basecoat | Quote on collection page | EPS adhesives basecoats |
| Mechanical fixings | Quote on collection page | insulation fixing accessories |
| Key coat or primer | Quote on collection page | exterior render primers |
| Finish render | Quote on collection page | silicone render |
The mesh row is the only one that converts cleanly, and even that conversion carries an assumption stated out loud: £55.00 ÷ 55 m² = £1.00 per m² of roll area, and covered area is lower than roll area once laps are taken out, by an amount the manufacturer sheet does not quantify in usable form. The board price is the opposite case — the listing shows £7.00 without naming whether that buys one board or a pack, so multiplying it by a wall area would invent a number the store never published.
Key Takeaway: material cost and installed cost are two different numbers and no honest guide merges them. Take the £60–£100/m² installed spread from the dated trade sources, then price the materials line separately from the collection pages so the two stay visible side by side.
Three Project Sizes, Costed by Wall Area
Wall area is the axis that decides an EWI invoice, so the three scenarios below run the two dated per-m² rates against 50, 120 and 250 m² of external wall. Each shows its operands, because an unshown multiplication is where a budget quietly goes wrong.
| Wall area | At £60–£80/m² | At £100/m² | Cross-check on house type |
|---|---|---|---|
| 50 m², small terrace or flat | 50 × 60 = £3,000 to 50 × 80 = £4,000 | 50 × 100 = £5,000 | Mid-terrace quoted at £6,000–£8,000 including VAT |
| 120 m², typical semi-detached | 120 × 60 = £7,200 to 120 × 80 = £9,600 | 120 × 100 = £12,000 | Semi-detached quoted at £8,000–£10,000 including VAT |
| 250 m², large detached | 250 × 60 = £15,000 to 250 × 80 = £20,000 | 250 × 100 = £25,000 | Detached quoted at £15,000–£20,000 including VAT |
Read the two rate columns as a range rather than a contradiction. The per-m² arithmetic and the published house-type figures agree closely at the small end and diverge at the large end, which tells a specifier something real: big detached elevations tend to price better per square metre than small ones, because scaffolding, set-up and mobilisation are spread across more wall. The VAT position also differs between the columns — the house-type figures are stated by their source as including VAT, while the per-m² rates are not labelled either way, so confirm the treatment on any quote before comparing it with these.
What Sits Outside Every per-m² Rate
Scaffolding is quoted separately by both sources and on two different bases, which is worth knowing before a quote is compared. One gives about £625 per week for a single scaffold up to 10 m high; the other gives around £1,000 for a typical three-bedroom semi including permits and licences. A weekly rate and a whole-job rate are not interchangeable, so the useful question to a contractor is how many weeks the programme assumes.
- Pipes, cables and fittings. Everything fixed to the wall comes off and goes back on, and that work is unavoidable rather than optional.
- Reveals, sills and roof overhang. Generous projecting sills and a deep eaves overhang keep this line small; shallow ones mean altering sills, rafters or guttering, which one source names as a major expense in its own right.
- Complexity. A simple rectangular property with few obstructions prices at the bottom of every range quoted above.
None of these three lines carries a figure here, because neither dated source publishes one and the store does not sell labour. Asking for them itemised is what turns three incomparable quotes into three comparable ones, and the guide to reading an EWI quote sets out what a complete itemisation looks like.
How to Reduce EWI Cost Without Cutting Quality
Four levers genuinely move the number, and all four are available before any specification is thinned. Renders World's position is straightforward: the material grade is the last thing worth economising on, because it is a small share of a total dominated by labour and access.
- Share the scaffold. Both sources make the same point independently: scheduling EWI alongside roof, gutter, repointing or painting work spreads the scaffolding line across two trades. On a £625-per-week or £1,000-per-job basis, that is the largest single saving available without touching the build-up.
- Buy the materials on one line. A bundle priced per square metre of wall arrives matched and complete, which removes the mid-job stall of one missing pallet. Whether that beats buying component by component depends on the job, and the bundle against component buying comparison works both routes through.
- Specify the tier before asking for prices. Naming board grade, render type and finish gives every contractor the same benchmark and removes the option to substitute downward; which bundle tier suits which project covers that choice.
- Check funding eligibility early. Grant schemes change the arithmetic completely for qualifying households, and eligibility is assessed by a registered installer as part of survey. Scheme names, dates and funding levels are not published here because no scheme document was retrieved this session — confirm them with the installer or the administering body directly.
The lever worth leaving alone is board thickness. Thinner board is cheaper by a small amount per square metre and reduces the thermal resistance the wall was insulated for in the first place, which is a poor trade on a facade meant to last decades. Where the money saved matters more than the depth gained, the better move is a simpler finish: standard render sits at £30–£50/m² against £50–£80/m² for acrylic and silicone on the source read above, and the insulation beneath it is unaffected.
Where the Cost Question Sits in the Wider System
Cost is one of four questions an EWI project asks, and keeping them apart makes each easier to answer. The external wall insulation silo at Renders World is organised the same way: this page owns what a job costs by wall area, the collections own what each component costs, and two further guides own the questions that most often get folded into a price conversation by mistake.
- Savings over time is a separate calculation from purchase cost, and the EWI payback period model runs it against live energy prices rather than assumed ones.
- Compliance is a build-up calculation, not a price band, and no thickness satisfies a regulation on its own.
- Specification comes before costing, because a bundle tier and a board grade are what make two quotes comparable.
This guide was last reviewed in August 2026, and its figures were read on that date from sources that carry no publication date of their own — so treat anything more than a few months old as worth re-checking. Renders World publishes material prices on the collection pages themselves, live, which is the only place a current figure genuinely lives.
Written by Mariusz Saja. Technically reviewed by Rafał Wyrzykowski. Last reviewed Aug 2026.
EWI Cost Questions Homeowners Ask
How much should a typical semi-detached house cost?
On the two dated sources read in August 2026, a semi-detached house is quoted at £8,000–£10,000 including VAT, and 120 m² of wall costs £7,200–£12,000 depending on which per-m² rate applies. The honest answer is a range rather than a figure, and the way to narrow it is to measure the wall area, subtract the openings and ask three contractors to price the same specification.
What share of the total is materials rather than labour?
No percentage is published here, because neither dated source splits its per-m² rate into materials and labour and the store cannot price labour at all. What can be done is to price the materials line directly from the collection pages and subtract it from a contractor's total, which gives the split for that specific quote instead of a national average.
Is scaffolding included in a per-m² price?
One source states that its £100/m² figure includes scaffolding; the other quotes scaffolding separately at around £1,000 for a three-bedroom semi, or about £625 per week for a single scaffold up to 10 m. Because the two treat it differently, scaffolding is the first line to confirm when comparing quotes, and combining the work with other external jobs is the standard way to share it.
Does thicker insulation add much to the cost?
The board itself is a modest part of a total dominated by labour and access, so a step up in thickness usually costs far less than the same money spent on a more expensive finish. What thickness does affect is detailing — reveals, sills, verges and eaves all move outward with the board — and that detailing work is where the real cost of a deeper build-up appears.
Can a grant cover the whole installation?
Funding levels, scheme names and closing dates are deliberately not stated on this page, because no scheme document was retrieved when it was written and a wrong date on a grant is worse than no date at all. Eligibility depends on tenure, income, benefits status and property EPC band, and a registered installer runs that assessment as part of the survey at no cost to the household.
Cost figures on this page were read in August 2026 from Checkatrade's external wall insulation cost guide and Homebuilding & Renovating's cost breakdown.

